MUMBAI: In a first of its kind move to encourage upcoming fast bowlers, the BCCI, on Wednesday, while announcing the list of centrally-contracted players for the 2023-24 season, gave fast bowling contracts to Akash Deep, Vyshak Vijaykumar, Umran Malik, Yash Dayal and Vidwath Kaverappa-all pacers who have played for India or are in line to do so.
“In addition to the annual contracts, India’s selection committee also recommended fast bowling contracts for certain players, acknowledging their specialised skills and potential contributions in the bowling department,” informed the BCCI.

A pleasant surprise in the list is Umran Malik, who clocked speeds of 150 kmph during IPL-2022 but has been out of the Indian team for the past one year. Giving contract to Malik is a signal to the 24-year-old that he is still in the scheme of things. Malik played just five matches in the Ranji Trophy this season in which he took just four wickets@38.50, but his potential was evident in IPL 2022 when he took plenty of wickets for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

BCCI contract list

Another surprising name in the list is Yash Dayal, an impressive left-arm seamer from Uttar Pradesh, who turned out for Gujarat Titans last year in the IPL. Dayal was hit for five consecutive sixes by Kolkata Knight Riders’ Rinku Singh in an IPL match.
However, the 26-year-old’s potential was recognised and rewarded by the national selectors. Dayal also got an IPL contract worth Rs 5 crore with the RCB at last year’s IPL auction.


Bengal’s Akash Deep made an impressive Test debut when he took three for 83 against England on Day One in the fourth Test at the JSCA Stadium in Ranchi.
Kaverappa, who turned out for India A against the England Lions in January at Ahmedabad, took 10 wickets (4/99 & 6/61) for Karnataka against Vidarbha in the Ranji quarterfinals at Nagpur.
Vyshak impressed for Karnataka and RCB in the IPL. Vyshak took 39 wickets in eight matches @23.61, while Kaverappa took 25 wickets in five matches @20.16, for Karnataka in the 2023-24 edition of the Ranji Trophy.


Source link